Brife History of IPTA Activities

Songs of IPTA

A new era of Bengali Song evolved with the cultural movement of Indian Peoples' Theatre Association. The foundation was laid by the great composer Jyotirindra Moitra with his masterpiece `Nabajibaner Gan' (The song for a new life) in 1943 when devastating famine had grasped the life of Bengal. War and famine paved the way to the cry for freedom and peace, the main message of Nabajibaner Gan.

Binoy Roy came side by side creating songs of peasant and workers movement with great songs like `Ar Katakal' (How long to wait).Great Master Salil Chowdhury joined IPTA in 1946 and his contribution started with songs like `Amar Pratibader Bhasa'( My voice of protest). Hemanga Biswas presented a number of new songs saturated with folk music like `Bachbo bachbore amra' (We must live). Nibaran Pandit, the folk poet of Mymansingh joined IPTA with bunch of new age folk songs like `Peter katha keuto balena'( Nobody says about hunger).IPTA movement gained songs of finest satire from Gurudas Pal, another folk maestro from Metiabruz,Kolkata. His song `Papito krishna balena' (The sinner never says Krishna) is still contemporary.

The second phase of IPTA songs(starting from 1962 and onwards) was marked by creations of Dilip Sengupta, who contributed more than one hundred songs. His contribution comprised of songs like `Tomar pataka tulechi' (We have held your flag high). 1970 to 1976 was marked by semi fascist terror in West Bengal. Here we got great song like `Kara mor ghar bengeche' (Those who have destroyed my home) from Aloke Sanyal of Murshidabad. Another landmark song of this period `Hunshiar o sathi kishan' ( Be careful my peasant and worker friends) by Basudeb Dasgupta of Medinipur virtually became the icon of the time.

From 1977 onwards, IPTA  creators  contributed  different kind of songs with  variety of subjects and treatment and sometimes songs of constructive character. Ratna Bhattacharya's composition `Neme eso ei rajpathe' (Come down on the road) is one such. Sankar Mukherjee's  tribute to Rabindranath Tagore on 125th birth anniversary `Kisher dainyadasa' (How are we poor) is an unique example. Kankan Bhattacharya's antiwar song `Kothay gelo hariye' (Tell where my life is lost) shows a new horizon. Suvendu Maity's `Swapna dekhar sahas karo' (Have the courage to see dreams) helps reorganize our depressed mission. Fight for communal harmony was beautifully depicted in Hiranmoy Ghosal's song `Jaat drarma niye' ( With caste and religion). Amal nayek created one of the best songs of literacy movement namely `Ekbar aiso phire Rabi Thakur' (Rabi Thakur,please come back one more time).

New song movement still continues awaiting evaluation by future times. Following are some of the songs of IPTA:

Na Na Manbona - Jyotirindra Maitra
Ar Kato Kal - Binoy Roy
Amar Pratibader Bhasa - Salil Chowdhury
Bachbo Bachbore Amra - Hemanga Biswas
Peter Katha Keuto - Nibaran Pandit
Tomar Pataka Tulechi - Dilip Sengupta
Kara Mor Ghar Bhengeche - Aloke Sanyal
Hunshiar - Basudeb Dasgupta
Neme Eso Ei Rajpathe - Ratna Bhattacharya
Swapna Dekhar Shahas Karo - Suvendu Maity
Jat Dharma Niye - Hiranmay Ghosal
Kothay Gelo Hariye - Kankan Bhattacharjee
Ekbar Aiso Phire Rabi Thakur - Amal Nayek/Gopal Adhikary

Dramas of IPTA

The journey began with 'Agun' by Bijon Bhattacharyaya and had a unique turn in 'Laboratory' by Benoy Ghosh. 'Nabanna' created the history. New content and new form flashed out in the history of the progressive drama movement of the country. The journey had its milestone.

Some of the notable productions:
Bijon Bhattacharyaya
Monoranjan Bhattacharyaya
Panu Pal
Dinabandhu Mitra
Ritwik Ghatak
Biru Mukhopadhyaya
Ritwik Ghatak
Julias Fuchik
Umanath Bhattacharyaya
Dinabandhu Mitra
Biru Mukhopadhyaya
Bhoter Bhet (Street Play)
Panu Pal
Arunodayer Pathe
Salil Choudhury / Adaptation from "Rising of the Moon"
All India organisation of IPTA was dissolved in early 1960's immediately after the 8th All India Conference.
Ideological disputes within the organisation and relentless attack by the ruling classes from outside on the organisation in various ways could not push back the innumerable artists/ Playwrights / actors/actress/ drama activists / intellectuals to portray the sufferings and hopes of common people- the struggling people.

Chiraranjan Das
Chiraranjan Das
Muktir Antarale
Badudeb Basu
Haraner Nat Jamai
Sisir Sen - Dramatization from the story by Manik Bandopadhyaya
Jiban Jayer Gaan
Basudeb Basu
Long March        
Gyanesh Mukhopadhyaya
Munafa Thakurer Naksha
Hiren Bhattacharyaya
Agnigarva Lena
Shyamakanta Das
Bastab Shastra
Hiren Bhattacharyaya
Biru Mukhopadhyaya - Dramatization from the story by RabindraNath Tagore
Srijib Goswami
Haraner Nat Jamai (Jyatra)
Arun Mukhopadhyaya - Dramatization from the story by Manik Bandopadhyaya
Aajo Itihas
Sudip Sarkar - Probably the first original drama on May Day in Bengali
Srijib Goswami
Ispater Phala
Shyamakanta Das
Biru Mukhopadhyaya
Madarika Khel
Shashanka Gangopadhyaya
Pasha Khela
Suvankar Chakraborty
Spartacus (Jyatra)
Srijib Goswami
Maa (Hindi)
Supriya Sarbadhakari
Suvankar Chakraborty
Indranath Bandopadhyaya
Srijib Goswami
Nayanpurer Padma
Shib Sharma
Buno Hans
Hiren Bhattacharyaya
Ekhanie Shesh Noi
Supriya Sarbadhakari
Dharmadas Ghatak
Debesh Thakur
Eask Theke Bahu
Shantanu Basu
Shyamakanta Das
Kapinjaler Pratyabartan
Ashim Bandopadhyaya
Abelai Amrita Katha
Sudip Sarkar
Tapan Hazra
As time rolls by, new plays and productions come up in a row. Contemporary plays have created notable impact on the audience at large and both the plays and the productions have been reflecting the agony and ecstasy of the struggling people.
1990's - Till Now
Ground Zero
Sangram Guha
Anti Clock - 26/11
Sangram Guha
Panu Pal
Paglee Ghanti
Samudra Guha
Jayanta Chakraborty
Light House
Jayanta Chakraborty
Phatiker Chander Swapnaguli
Ashim Bandopadhyaya
Haripader Panja Larai
Ashim Bandopadhyaya
Tapan Hazra
Aami Krishna
Tapan Hazra
Tapan Hazra
Ananta Yatra
Tapan Hazra
Avijit Chatterjee
Nasto Bagan
Avijit Chatterjee
Satyaneshi Ani
Avijit Chatterjee
Tarapader Ma
Sudip Sarkar
Choto Bakulpurer Jaytri
Sudip Sarkar
Sudip Sarkar
Sudip Sarkar
The list has been increasing at regular interval.
New plays had been written and produced. Thousands of common people experienced another positive and unique turn in the history of progressive drama movement of the State. Time has been rolling on and new creations / productions are being added to the list till date. 

Glimpses of the past

Papi To Krishna Bole Na - Gurudas Pal

Kisher Dainya Dasa - Sankar Mukhopadhay